Two bridges were damaged and public transportation was disrupted Wednesday when a fire broke out in a Northern California homeless encampment.
The large blaze was initially reported at 12:45 a.m. along a large encampment under a Sacramento light rail overpass near Interstate 80, Sacramento Fire Department Capt. Keith Wade told Fox News.
A massive plume of smoke could be seen from the freeway. Footage of the aftermath taken by KCRA-TV showed several larges tires burned and multiple vehicles charred underneath the overpass where the heat caused chunks of concrete to fall.
The blaze appeared to have traveled up an embankment and burned some vegetation.
Around 36 firefighters responded to the scene. They were told a female took herself to a hospital but her injuries were not clear, Wade said. No other injuries were reported.
Two bridges were damaged and light rail traffic was briefly suspended. Engineers walked the rails and deemed them safe for the morning commute but are expected to check for long-term damage, according to the news outlet.
Fox News has reached out to the California Department of Transportation.
CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP
One person told the news outlet that at least 40 people were displaced from the encampment.
The California Transportation Commission has allocated $1.18 billion for infrastructure projects throughout the state.
The commission, which is made up of 13 members, is responsible for programming and directing transportation funds for highway, rail, transit and active transportation purposes.
More than half of the investment, some $630 million, came from Senate Bill 1, also known as the Road Repair and Accountability Act of 2017. This legislation, which involved a hike to fuel tax rates, is intended to direct $54 billion over a decade to fixing roads, highways and bridges, as well as supporting transit and safety.
According to the commission, SB 1 annually provides $5 billion in transportation funding, which is split between state and local agencies.
“California has the most heavily traveled transportation system in the country,” said California Department of Transportation Director Toks Omishakin. “[This] investment will allow Caltrans to make critical repairs and upgrades to our state’s roads and bridges, increase options for transit, rail, walking and biking, and support thousands of jobs.”
Some $7.8 million was approved for the Imperial County Transportation Commission in support of truck crossing improvements at the Calexico East Port of Entry. Imperial County comprises the eastern half of California’s border with Mexico.
The Calexico East Port of Entry, which links Imperial County to Mexicali, is a bustling crossing point for commercial trucks. According to the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, this port of entry has processed 107,929 trucks so far in 2021.
About $200 million was set aside for constructing a truck climbing lane along Interstate 10, which stretches across the southern U.S. from Santa Monica, Calif., to Jacksonville, Fla., and serves as an important conduit for freight.
In Stockton, $20 million will support a project located at a freight rail corridor that links the Port of Stockton to markets throughout California. An inland port located on the San Joaquin River, the Port of Stockton has handling facilities for dry and liquid bulk materials as well as containerized cargo.
Specifically, crews will build a flyover spanning the Stockton Diamond, an at-grade crossing point for Union Pacific Corp. and BNSF Railway tracks. According to the commission, the project will provide vertical clearance, eliminating interference between the freight railroads at this intersection.
A few of the projects focus on incorporating alternative fuels into the transportation sector. Some $5 million was issued for the procurement of 20 zero-emission hydrogen fuel cell buses and related infrastructure to improve service frequency in Los Angeles County.
The San Diego Metropolitan Transit System was issued $13.3 million to purchase 11 battery-electric buses. Specifically, these buses will be used on the Iris Rapid route, which will link passengers from Otay Mesa to the Iris Avenue station east of Imperial Beach when it is completed.
Along I-10, some $1.3 million was approved for the installation of electric charging stations for zero-emission vehicles near Banning and Blythe. Banning is 30 mile east of San Bernardino. Blythe is located directly across
SACRAMENTO — California is slated soon to reinstate funding for subsidies that encourage drivers to buy electric cars, a program advocates say will help the state prepare for Gov. Gavin Newsom’s order to ban the sale of new gas-powered cars by 2035.
But who exactly will get rebate checks has created a divide between some state legislators and environmental activists, who say more money should be directed to help low-income drivers go electric.
If you’re more than a little confused by California’s rules allowing clean cars into the much-prized diamond lanes, join the club. The state DMV and the California Air Resources Board (CARB) haven’t done a great job of clarifying HOV matters. So let’s take a look at California HOV stickers and what vehicles are eligible.
California HOV Stickers
In order to encourage people to buy the cleanest vehicles and move away from vehicles that run on petroleum, California implemented a Clean Air Vehicle Decal Program. This program permits vehicles that meet specified emissions standards to be issued a HOV sticker or CAV decal to drive in carpool lanes at single occupancy.
*All CAV decals or HOV stickers must remain with the vehicle to which they were originally issued. They CANNOT be transferred to another vehicle. And if you purchase a vehicle that already is been issued an HOV sticker than you must transfer the decal to your name.
How Do I Apply for CAV Decal?
Fill out an application for Clean Air Vehicle Decals REG 1000
Mail the completed application with a $22 decal fee (no cash) to the address printed on the form.
Wait for the stickers to be sent to you (usually within 30 business days)
Here are the DMV tips to ensure your application is complete and you receive your ticket:
Ensure your vehicle is checking the CARB eligibility list
Provide all vehicle information at the top of the form.
In section 1, provide your (the current registered owner’s) name and address. The address on the application must match the address on the vehicle registration card.
In section 2, check “Original decals”, if the vehicle has never been issued a CAV decal
In section 3, read all important information, print your name, telephone number, and sign the form
California HOV Stickers 2020
The 2020 CAV decal is orange and expires on 1/1/2024. Other acceptable HOV stickers:
Purple – Year issued 2019 and expires on 1/1/2023
Red – Year issued 2018 and expires on 1/1/2022
According to DMV.ca.gov, “These CAV decals are issued to vehicles that meet California’s super ultra-low emission vehicle (SULEV), inherently low-emission vehicle (ILEV) and transitional zero emission vehicle (TZEV) evaporative emission standard for exhaust emissions. Compressed natural gas (CNG) and Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) fueled vehicles may also qualify for the CAV decal program.”
How Do I Know If My Vehicle is Eligible?
If you drive a hybrid electric, battery electric, plug-in hybrid or other low-emission vehicle, you may be eligible to apply for a HOV sticker. The only way to determine if your specific vehicle is eligible for a California HOV sticker is to check CARB’s eligibility list.
TicketBust Can Help Today
Through TicketBust, we build solid defenses to fight traffic citations. We use a premier system that has processed thousands of tickets and cases and is successful in providing clients the best opportunity of getting their ticket dismissed.
To learn more about our services, contact TicketBust today!
Sharing the road is key for drivers and bicyclists. Bike safety is an important concern to riders and drivers. Over 100 people are killed and thousands are injured in bicycle collisions with cars each year in California. Many victims are children. Some accidents are due to motorists’ lack of attention; others to bicyclists’ actions.
Pass a bicyclist as you would a slow-moving vehicle. Pass with caution, and only when safe.
Look carefully for bicyclists before opening doors next to moving traffic.
Do not drive in the bike lane except when entering or leaving a roadway or when preparing for a turn within a distance of 200 feet from an intersection.
Do not overtake a bicyclist just before making a turn. Merge first behind the bicyclist, then turn.
Bicyclists Can Help “Share the Road”
Wear reflective clothing to be seen by drivers when riding at night.
Ride in the same direction as the traffic. You will be coming in an unexpected direction and may not be seen by drivers if you ride on the wrong side of the road.
Keep your eyes on the road ahead. Avoid running over potholes, gravel, broken glass, drainage grates, puddles you can’t see through, or other unsafe road conditions.
Always look over your shoulder to make sure the lane is clear before turning or changing lanes and always signal before changing lanes.
Obey STOP signs and signals. It’s a good idea to stop for yellow lights—rushing through a yellow light may not leave you enough time to make it across the intersection before the light changes.
Wear a helmet to reduce the risk of head injury. It’s the law for children under the age of 18 when riding a bicycle, scooter, skateboard or skates.
Click here for a printable flyer of bike and vehicle safety tips.
Bikeways & Bike Trails
Lakewood bicyclists are fortunate to have nearby access to the San Gabriel River Bike Trail, which is a “Class 1” bikeway ending at the ocean in Seal Beach. Lakewood’s Rynerson Park offers parking for bicyclists, and is located on Studebaker Road just south of Del Amo Boulevard.
This is a guide to Class I paved bicycle paths around Los Angeles, and around Northern Orange County California:
‘Class I,’ paved, separate right-of-ways, mostly in parks, along rivers, beaches, and along lakesides.
View L A Bike Paths in a larger map
This site is owned, built, hosted and maintained by Internet consultant Scott Hendison, who grew up in LA, but now lives in Portland Oregon. The site was originally built in 2004 using Microsoft notepad, and it was converted to WordPress around 10 years later. As you can see, we need newer images and bike path updates, including editing the maps themselves in Google Maps. If you’re interested in helping, we’d love to hear from you!
If your car has been repossessed and you live in California, here’s what you need to know.
Most people think that if they don’t pay the car loan, the lender will come to repossess the vehicle. Once that’s done, they figure it’s all over.
That’s exactly what my client thought when the tow truck was hauling away his Ford Explorer. Fast forward a few months and he knows better.
Now, so can you.
When A Vehicle Can Be Repossessed
In the beginning, there’s a car loan. You miss a payment and figure that a delay of a few days won’t make a difference. With so many cars in California, it’s not uncommon to be late by at least a few days.
What you don’t know is that under California law, the lender can repossess your vehicle without any prior notice to you so long as you’re as little as one day late on payment.
In fact, the lender can repossess a car in California whenever there’s a default in the terms of the contract. That includes not only missing a payment but also an insurance lapse.
It’s a good idea to read the contract carefully so you can find the landmines.
Who Can Repossess A Vehicle
Under California law, the car finance company as well as a registered repossession agency can repossess your automobile.
In order to have authority to repossess the vehicle, the company must be licensed or registered with the California Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services. You should always ask to see the license before surrendering your car to a repo agent, and verify that license with the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services.
Place And Time Of Repossession (And The Shakedown)
A repossession agent in California can’t come into a private building such as a garage, nor can they enter a secured or locked area such as a gated driveway, without the permission of the owner of the premises.
Your car can, however, be repossessed from unsecured driveways, streets, parking lots, and other publicly accessible areas in California at any time of day or night.
You don’t need to be present when the vehicle is taken, so if you park on the street and go to sleep there’s a chance the car may be gone when you wake up.
If you happen to be present when the car’s being taken, you may be able to save the car by paying the balance due rather than losing your wheels. If that happens then you have the right to receive an itemized receipt, and the repossession agent is required to forward your payment to the car lenders.
Timeline After Repossession
Once the car is repossessed, the clock starts ticking.
California law gives the repossession agency 48 hours to give you a Notice of Seizure that provides you with the name and contact information of both the legal owner and the repossession agency.
You must also be given an Inventory of Personal Effects that
In addition to a motor vehicle’s initial registration renewal fee, California residents may also be required to pay other fees before they can renew their registration. These fees can include:
Local county or district fees for special programs
Fees for specialty license plates (Specialty Equipment)
Vehicle license fee (VLF) at .65% the value of the vehicle
Delinquency fees for things like unpaid tickets and late renewal
If your vehicle has not been operated for over 90 days, you may file for a Planned Non-Operation. Additionally, you may be eligible for a tax deduction on your vehicle license fee (VLF) after you renew your registration. For more information about how California registration fees are calculated, please click here.
Registration Renewal for Fleets
Let eTags manage your vehicle services so you can run a safer, more productive, more compliant fleet. Big or small, we can renew registrations for all types of fleet sizes including cars, trucks, SUVs and more. eTags is 100% online, saving you 100% of the time with a dedicated log-in for zero hassles and zero downtime.
Renew registrations for all types of fleet sizes
Emission and Smog Testing
In the state of California, motor vehicles owners will be required to have their vehicle undergo an emission and smog test every other year. The registration renewal notice that you’ll receive in the mail will state whether or not your motor vehicle requires it on that renewal year. There are some vehicles that do not require smog testing or qualify for a smog exemption. They include:
Any vehicle made before 1975
Diesel vehicles made before 1997
Vehicles less than 6 years old and have paid a $20.00 abatement fee
Vehicles powered by natural gas that weigh more than 14,000 pounds
For more information about smog regulations for California registration, please visit the Smog Information page
The California Vehicle Code contains the state laws that specify where and how bikes must operate. For the most part, bicyclists have the same rights and responsibilities as motor vehicle drivers. (CVC 21200).
There are some specific rules. Below, for your benefit, we summarize the key sections of the law that relate to cycling.
WHERE YOU CAN RIDE
If you’re moving as fast as traffic, you can ride wherever you want.
If you’re moving slower than traffic, you can “take the lane” if it’s not wide enough for a bike and a vehicle to safely share side-by-side.The law says that people who ride bikes must ride as close to the right side of the road as practicable except under the following conditions: when passing, preparing for a left turn, avoiding hazards, if the lane is too narrow to share, or if approaching a place where a right turn is authorized. (CVC 21202) Unfortunately, some motorists and even police don’t understand cyclists’ right to “take the lane.” If you have a legal problem based on this understanding, consider calling one of the bike-friendly lawyers we identify on our “Crash Help” page.
Use the bicycle lane.On a roadway with a bike lane, bicyclists traveling slower than traffic must use the bike lane except when making a left turn, passing, avoiding hazardous conditions, or approaching a place where a right turn is authorized. CVC 21208
You don’t have to use the “protected bike lane.” Once a bike lane is separated from moving traffic with posts or car parking or anything else, it’s no longer a “bike lane” according to the law; it’s a “separated bikeway.” CVC 21208 does not apply. You may ride outside of the separated bikeway for any reason. (SHC 890.4d)
Ride with traffic.Bicyclists must travel on the right side of the roadway in the direction of traffic, except when passing, making a legal left turn, riding on a one-way street, riding on a road that is too narrow, or when the right side of the road is closed due to road construction. CVC 21650
Mopeds and high-speed electric bikes are not like regular bikes.Gas-powered bicycles and type 3 electric bicycles (with top assisted speeds of 28 mph) may not be used on trails or bike paths or lanes unless allowed by local authorities. They may be used in bike lanes or separated bikeways adjacent to the roadway. CVC 21207.5 They require helmets and may not be operated by people under age 16.
Low-speed electric bicycles are almost like regular bikes. Type 1 and 2 electric bicycles (with top assisted speeds of 20 mph) are allowed wherever regular bikes are allowed unless a sign specifically prohibits electric bicycles.
Bike path obstruction: No one may stop on or park a bicycle on a bicycle path. CVC 21211
Sidewalks: Individual cities and counties control whether bicyclists may ride on sidewalks. CVC 21206
Freeways: Bicycles (including motorized bicycles) may not be ridden on freeways and expressways where doing