USA FlagForty-five states and the District of Columbia provide an incentive for certain hybrid and/or electric vehicles, either through a specific utility operating in the state or through state legislation. The incentives range from tax credits or rebates to fleet acquisition goals, exemptions from emissions testing or utility time-of-use rate reductions. The five gray colored states do not have any laws or policies in place that would specifically impact the buying of an electric vehicle or the building of electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE). In addition, 20 states have enacted legislation to implement a special registration fee on alternatively fueled or electric vehicles. All fees are in addition to the standard registration fees.

Additional maps comparing specific state incentives are displayed at the bottom of the page.

 Alabama

AL flag

Charging Rate Incentive: Alabama Power offers a residential PEV rate for customers who verify possession of a qualified PEV and a Business Electric Vehicle Time-of-Use (BEVT) rate for electricity purchased to charge PEVs used for fleet purposes. The electricity used for vehicle charging is metered separately from all other electricity use.

Arizona

AZ flagAlternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Parking Incentive: An individual driving a dedicated AFV may park without penalty in parking areas that are designated for carpool operators, provided the vehicle is using alternative fuel. Recognized alternative fuels include propane, natural gas, electricity, hydrogen and a blend of hydrogen with propane or natural gas.

AFV Use Tax Exemption: S.B. 1413 (2014) exempts certain alternative fuels such as natural gas, electricity, propane, and hydrogen from the state use tax.

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Tax Credit: A tax credit of up to $75 is available to individuals for the installation of EV charging outlets in a house or housing unit built by the individual.

HOV Lane Exemption: Qualified alternative fuel vehicles may use designated HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle.

Joint Use of Government Fueling Infrastructure: To the extent practical, an Arizona state agency or political subdivision that operates an alternative fueling station must allow vehicles, other state agencies or political subdivisions own or operate to fuel at the station. For the purpose of this requirement, alternative fuels include propane, natural gas, electricity, hydrogen, and a blend of hydrogen with propane or natural gas.

Plug-In Electric Vehicle Charging Rates:  The Salt River Project offers an experimental reduced rate time-of-use plan for certain plug-in hybrid and electric vehicle owners.

Reduced AFV License Tax: The vehicle license tax for an AFV is $4 for every $100 in assessed value. During the first year after initial registration, the AFV ‘s assessed value is 1 percent of the manufacturer’s base retail price (compared to 60 percent for conventional vehicles). For each succeeding year, the original value of the AFV is reduced by 15 percent. The minimum amount of the annual AFV license tax is $5. For the purpose of this tax, AFVs include those powered exclusively by propane, natural gas, electricity, hydrogen, or a blend of hydrogen with propane or natural gas.

Vehicle Emissions Inspection Exemption: Arizona Revised Statutes 49-542 and 49-542.05 exempt all-electric vehicles, hydrogen powered vehicles, and current model year propane and natural gas vehicles (NGVs) registered for the first time in Arizona from emissions testing. This exemption does not apply after the first registration year. All AFVs , with the exception of electric, solar, and hydrogen powered vehicles, used to commute into Phoenix or Tucson are required to be emissions tested before they are registered.

Arkansas

CA flagRebate for refueling stations: The Arkansas Energy Office of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality may offer a rebate for each approved private electric vehicle charging station, public electric vehicle charging station, compressed natural gas refueling station, liquefied natural gas refueling station, and liquefied petroleum gas refueling station in amounts ranging from $900 to $400,000.

California

CA flagAdvanced Transportation Tax Exclusion: California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority (CAEATFA) provides a sales and use tax exclusion for qualified manufacturers of advanced transportation products, components, or systems that reduce pollution and energy use and promote economic development. Incentives are not available after December 31, 2020. 

AFV & Fueling Infrastructure Grants: The Motor Vehicle Registration Fee Program provides funding for projects that reduce air pollution from on- and off-road vehicles. Eligible projects include purchasing AFVs and developing alternative fueling infrastructure.

AFV Parking: The California Department of General Services (DGS) and California Department of Transportation (DOT) must provide 50 or more parking spaces and park-and-ride lots owned and operated by DOT to incentivize the use of alternative fuel vehicles.

AFV Rebate Program: The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District administers the Drive Clean! Rebate Program, which provides rebates of up to $3,000 for the purchase or lease of eligible new vehicles, including qualified natural gas and plug-in electric vehicles.

Alternative Fuel & Vehicle Incentives: Through the Alternative and Renewable Fuel Vehicle Technology Program, the California Energy Commission provide financial incentives for businesses, vehicle and technology manufacturers, workforce training partners, fleet owners, consumers and academic institutions with the goal of developing and deploying alternative and renewable fuels and advanced transportation technologies. The program will be available until Jan. 1, 2024. 

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE ) & Charging Incentives—Sacramento: Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) offers residential customers a $599 rebate or a free Level 2 (240 volt) plug-in electric vehicle charger. Rebates or chargers are available to SMUD residential customers with the purchase or lease of a new PEV.

EVSE & Charging Incentives—Sonoma: Qualified Sonoma Clean Power (SCP) customers are eligible to receive a free JuiceNet-enabled EVSE from eMotorWerks, which allows the EVSE to be connected to Wi-Fi and communicate with the SCP CleanCharge software. This software helps customers avoid using as much power when California’s electric grid is particularly expensive or harmful to the environment. Customers with an existing standard, non-connected EVSE , are eligible to receive a free JuicePlug (smart grid adapter) to convert to a JuiceNet-enabled EVSE . Customers are responsible for shipping and installation costs. Eligible customers may also receive a $250 rebate in JuicePoints to pay for charging.

EVSE Incentives—San Joaquin Valley: The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District (SJVAPCD) administers the Charge Up! Program, which provides funding for public agencies and businesses for the purchase and installation of new, publicly accessible EVSE . A single port Level 2 station is eligible for up to $5,000 per unit, and a dual port Level 2 station may receive up to $6,000 per unit. There is an annual funding cap of $50,000 per applicant. 

EVSE Loan & Rebate Program: The Electric Vehicle Charging Station Financing Program, part of the California Capital Access Program (CalCAP), provides loans for the design, development, purchase, and installation of EVSE at small business locations in California. The program may provide up to 100 percent coverage to lenders on certain loan defaults. Lenders must apply to the California Pollution Control Financing Authority (CPCFA) to participate and enroll each qualified EVSE loan through CalCAP. Upon approval, CPCFA will pay a premium into the lender’s loan loss reserve account for up to 20 percent of the loan amount and contribute an additional 10 percent for installations in multi-unit dwellings and disadvantaged communities. Small businesses are eligible for a rebate of 50 percent of the loan loss reserve amount after the small business repays the loan in full or meets monthly payment deadlines over a 48-month period. Eligible borrowers must be small businesses with 1,000 or fewer employees and must maintain legal control of the EVSE for the entire loan period. The maximum loan amount is $500,000 per qualified small business and can be insured for up to four years. The California Energy Commission funds the Program. 

EVSE Rebate—LA: The Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP) Charge Up L.A.! Program provides rebates to residential and commercial customers who install Level 2 (240 Volt) chargers. Commercial customers who purchase and install EVSE for employee and public use can receive up to $4,000 for each charger. Residential customers who install wall-mounted chargers can receive up to $500. EVSE must be installed within the LADWP service area; rebates do not cover the cost of installation. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis through June 30, 2018, or until funds are exhausted, whichever occurs first. 

HOV Lane Exemption: Qualified alternative fuel vehicles—including hydrogen, hybrid, and electric vehicles—may use designated HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle. Qualified vehicles are also exempt from toll fees in High Occupancy Toll (HOT) lanes.

Insurance Discount: Farmer’s Insurance offers a discount of up to 10 percent on certain insurance coverage for HEV and AFV owners.

PEV Charging Rate Reductions: The Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD), Southern California Edison (SCE), Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E), Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP), and San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) provide discounted rate plans to residential customers for electricity used to charge qualified electric vehicles.

PEV Credit: San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) offers an annual credit of $50 to customers who own or lease a PEV. The credit is available to qualified customers through 2020.

PEV Rebate: Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) provides rebates of $500 to residential customers who purchase or lease an eligible PEV. Residential account holders may apply on behalf of a PEV owner in their household or their tenant in a multifamily household with the vehicle owner’s permission.

Plug-In Hybrid & Zero Emission Light-Duty Vehicle Rebates: The Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) offers rebates for the purchase or lease of qualified vehicles. Qualified vehicles are light-duty zero emission vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) the California Air Resources Board (ARB) has approved or certified. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis to individuals, business owners and government entities in California that purchase or lease new eligible vehicles. Manufacturers must apply to ARB to have their vehicles included in the CVRP. For vehicles purchased on or after March 29, 2016, eligibility for the rebate for individuals is based on gross annual income, as stated on the individual’s federal tax return. Individuals with a gross annual income above certain thresholds are only eligible for rebates for fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs ). For individuals with low and moderate household incomes of less than or equal to 300 percent of the federal poverty level, rebates are increased by $1,500, for a total rebate amount of up to $6,500. Beginning Nov. 1, 2016, rebates are increased by $2,000 for qualifying households. Increased rebates are available for ARB-approved FCEVs, PHEVs, and battery electric vehicles. ARB determines annual funding amounts for the CVRP, which is expected to be effective through 2023.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: S.B. 1 (2017), codified as Cal. Vehicle Code §9650.6, requires all owners of zero-emission vehicle model year 2020 or later to pay an annual fee of $100, effective July 1, 2020.

Voluntary Vehicle Retirement Incentives: The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District and the South Coast Air Quality Management District administer the Enhanced Fleet Modernization Program (EFMP) Pilot Retire and Replace program, providing incentives to replace a vehicle eligible for retirement with a more fuel-efficient vehicle. Used vehicles must be no more than eight years old and applicants must live in the San Joaquin Valley or South Coast air basins. Eligible replacement vehicles must meet a minimum fuel economy average by model year or average at least 35 miles per gallon (mpg). Alternative fuel vehicles are also eligible, including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEV) and zero emission vehicles (ZEVs). Incentives range from $2,500-$4,500.

Colorado

CO flagAFV Fleet Technical Assistance: The Colorado Energy Office administers Refuel Colorado Fleets, a free energy coaching program for fleet managers and communities. The program helps fleet managers identify AFV options and develop a business case. Energy coaches guide fleet managers through the acquisition process by providing technical expertise on issues such as fueling, incentives, maintenance, and safety. Energy coaches also work with local leaders, fuel providers and dealerships to encourage AFV development in each community. 

All-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Xcel Energy customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates are available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted.

AFV & EV Tax Credit: Residents of Colorado are eligible for up to $5,000 in tax credits for the purchase of EVs and AFV s. Interestingly, consumers can either get the rebate on the day they buy the car by assigning rights to the tax credit to a lender or they can wait until tax day for their return. For electric vehicles, the state tax credits are in addition to the $7,500 offered in federal tax credits, totaling a maximum of $12,500 per vehicle for passenger vehicles.

PEV & EVSE Grants: The Colorado Energy Office (CEO) and Regional Air Quality Council (RAQC) provide grants to support PEV adoption in fleets. RAQC grants cover 80 percent of the incremental cost of a qualified PEV, up to $8,260. Both CEO and RAQC grants fund 80 percent of the cost of EVSE , up to $6,260.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: H.B. 1110 (2013), codified as Colo. Rev. Stat. §42-3-304(24)(a), requires electric vehicle owners to pay an annual fee of $50 in addition to other registration fees, for a PEV decal, authorizing PEV owners to use public EVSE in Colorado. Fees contribute to the Highway Users Tax Fund and the Electric Vehicle Grant Fund, which provides grants for EVSE .

Connecticut

CT flagAFV Procurement Preference: In determining the lowest responsible qualified bidder for the award of state contracts, the Connecticut Department of Administrative Services may give a price preference of up to 10 percent for the purchase of AFV s or for the purchase of conventional vehicles plus the conversion equipment to convert the vehicles to dual or dedicated alternative fuel use. For these purposes, alternative fuels are natural gas, hydrogen, propane, or electricity used to operate a motor vehicle. 

EVSE Grants: The Connecticut Clean Fuel Program provides funding to municipalities and public agencies that purchase, operate, and maintain alternative fuel and advanced technology vehicles, including those that operate on compressed natural gas, propane, hydrogen, and electricity. The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection also provides funding to municipalities and state agencies for the project cost and installation of electric vehicle supply equipment. Funding is available for 50 percent of project costs (up to $2,000 per unit and $4,000 per site) to 100 percent of project costs (up to $10,000 per site), depending on how well the project matches program criteria. For EVSE that is available to the public 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and located in a major downtown area or other central destination currently underserved by EVSE , the Department will provide up to $5,000 per unit or up to $10,000 per site. All EVSE must be available to the public at no cost for three years, with further criteria required for maximum funding.

EV Emissions Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state motor vehicle emissions inspection.

Hydrogen and Electric Vehicle Rebate: The Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate Program (CHEAPR) provides up to $5,000 for the purchase or lease of a hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV ), all-electric vehicle, or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. Rebates are offered on a first-come, first-served basis.

Reduced Registration Fee: Electric vehicles are eligible for a reduced vehicle registration fee of $38.

Delaware

DE flagAFV Rebates: As part of the Delaware Clean Transportation Incentive Program, the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control offers rebates for new, leased, or converted AFV s. Rebates from 2016-2018 range from $1,500 for the purchase of hybrid vehicles to $20,000 for the purchase of dedicated heavy-duty natural gas vehicles. Eligible applicants include Delaware residents, businesses, organizations, and government entities. Rebate applications must be signed by both the purchaser and a participating dealer representative. Rebates are limited to six vehicles per fleet and one vehicle per individual. All vehicles purchased through this rebate program must be titled and registered in the state. 

All-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Delmarva Power customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates are available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted.

Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicle Acquisition Requirements: All new light-duty vehicles that Delaware state agencies, departments, and offices purchase must be hybrid electric, alternative fuel, fuel-efficient, or low emission vehicles, unless such a purchase compromises health, safety, or law enforcement needs. Additionally, the state must develop procedures for diesel fleet vehicles to use biodiesel fuel blends of the highest practical percentage.

EVSE Rebates: As part of the Delaware Clean Transportation Incentive Program, the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control offers rebates for new EVSE purchased for use at commercial and residential locations. As of Nov. 1, 2016, rebate amounts are 50 percent of the cost of a residential charging station, and up to 75 percent  of the cost of a commercial or workplace charging station. Eligible applicants include Delaware residents, businesses, organizations, and government entities. Rebates are limited to five EVSE per fleet and one EVSE per individual. 

Vehicle-to-Grid Energy Credit: Retail electricity customers with at least one grid-integrated electric vehicle may qualify to receive kilowatt-hour credits for energy discharged to the grid from the EV’s battery at the same rate that the customer pays to charge the battery.

Florida

FL flagAll-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Duke Energy and Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC) customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates were available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted. 

Authorization for Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Incentives: Local governments may use income from the infrastructure surtax to provide loans, grants, or rebates to residential or commercial property owners to install EVSE as well as liquefied petroleum gas (propane), compressed natural gas, and liquefied natural gas fueling infrastructure, if a local government ordinance authorizing this use is approved by referendum.

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Financing: Property owners may apply to their local government for funding to help finance EVSE installations on their property or enter into a financing agreement with the local government for the same purpose.

HOV Lane Exemption: Qualified alternative fuel vehicles (Inherently Low Emission Vehicle or Hybrid electric Vehicle) may use designated HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle. The vehicle must display a Florida Division of Motor Vehicles issued decal, which is renewed annually. Vehicles with decals may also use any HOV lane designated as a HOV toll lane without paying the toll. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019.

PEV Rebate: Jacksonville Electric Authority (JEA) offers rebates for PEVs with a battery less than 15 kilowatt-hours (kWh) in capacity to receive $500, and PEVs with larger battery capacity are eligible for $1,000. A copy of a valid Florida vehicle registration, proof of sale, and a recent JEA Electric bill are required.

Georgia

GA flagAll-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Georgia Power customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates are available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted. 

Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicle Job Creation Tax Credit: A business that manufactures alternative energy products for use in battery, biofuel, and electric vehicle enterprises may claim an annual tax credit for five years. The amount of the tax credit is based on the number of eligible new full-time employee jobs. Qualified entities must be defined as business enterprises, which do not include retail businesses. Credit amounts differ depending on how the county in which the business is located ranks based on unemployment rates and income levels.

Commercial AFV Tax Credit: An income tax credit is available to taxpayers who purchase new commercial medium-duty or heavy-duty AFV s that operate using at least 90 percent alternative fuel. Eligible alternative fuels include electricity, propane, natural gas, or hydrogen fuel. Medium-duty hybrid electric vehicles also qualify. Eligible medium-duty AFV s with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) between 8,500 and 26,001 pounds (lbs.) may qualify for a credit of up to $12,000. Heavy-duty AFV s with a GVWR over 26,001 lbs. may qualify for a credit of up to $20,000. The maximum credit per taxpayer is $250,000 and no unused portion of the credit may be carried forward. Qualified AFV s must have been purchased before June 30, 2017, remain registered in Georgia for at least five years, be certified by the Georgia Board of Natural Resources and accumulate at least 75 percent of their annual mileage in Georgia. The Georgia Department of Revenue will preapprove credit applications on a first come, first served basis. Up to $2.5 million in total credits will be available each fiscal year.

EVSE Rebate: Georgia Power offers a rebate to residential customers and builders who install Level 2 (208/240 volt) EVSE . Residential customers are eligible for a $250 rebate and new home construction builders are eligible for a $100 rebate for each dedicated circuit installed from Jan. 1, 2017, through Dec. 31, 2017.

EVSE Tax Credit: An eligible business enterprise may claim an income tax credit for the purchase or lease of EVSE so long as the EVSE is located in the state and accessible to the public. The amount of the credit is 10 percent of the cost of the EVSE , up to $2,500.

HOV Lane and High Occupancy Toll (HOT) Lane Exemption: Qualified AFV s displaying the proper alternative fuel license plate may use designated HOV and HOT lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle toll-free. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019.

PEV Charging Rate Incentive: Georgia Power offers a time-of-use electricity rate for residential customers who own a hybrid or electric vehicle.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 170 (2015), codified as Ga. Code Ann. §40-2-151, repeals a state tax credit of $5,000 and imposes a $200 annual fee on all non-commercial electric vehicles. The Georgia Dept. of Revenue may adjust fees annually based on vehicle fuel economy and the Consumer Price Index through July 1, 2018.

Hawaii

HI flagHOV Lane Exemption: Qualified PEVs may use designated HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle. This exemption is effective through June 30, 2020, or until Sept. 30, 2019, if federal authorization for HOV lane access expires. 

Parking Fee Exemption: Qualified vehicles with electric vehicle license plates are exempt from certain parking fees charged by any non-federal government authority. This exemption is effective through June 30, 2020.

Parking Requirement: Public parking systems with 100 parking spaces or more must include at least one designated parking space for EVs and provide an EV charging system.

PEV Charging Rate Incentive: Hawaiian Electric Company (and its subsidiaries, Maui Electric Company, Hawaii Electric Light Company) offers time-of-use rates for residential and commercial customers who own an electric vehicle. This pilot program is offered to customers on Oahu, Maui County, and the Island of Hawaii.

Idaho

ID flagEVSE Rebate: Yellowstone-Teton Clean Cities (YTCC) offers a rebate of $5,000 toward the purchase of publicly accessible EVSE . Eligible entities include businesses and municipalities in the communities surrounding Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park. 

State Agency Petroleum Reduction Plan: All state agencies must reduce their fleets’ petroleum consumption by increasing vehicle fuel economy and operating efficiency and reducing the number of miles driven by each employee. Agencies must also give priority to the purchase and use of hybrid electric vehicles and other fuel-efficient, low emission vehicles.

Vehicle Inspection Exemptions: Hybrid and electric vehicles are exempt from state motor vehicle inspection and maintenance programs.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: H.B. 312 (2015), codified as Idaho Code §49-457, creates a $140 annual fee on all-electric vehicles and $75 on certain hybrid vehicles.

Illinois

IL flagAFV Fleet Incentives: The Illinois Green Fleets Program recognizes and provides additional marketing opportunities for fleets in Illinois that have a significant number of AFV s and use clean, domestically produced fuels. 

EV Emissions Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state motor vehicle emissions inspections.

EV Registration Fee Reduction: The owner of an EV may register for a discounted registration fee not to exceed $35 for a two-year registration period or $18 for a one-year registration period.

Fleet User Fee Exemption: Fleets with 10 or more vehicles located in defined areas of the state must pay an annual user fee of $20 per vehicle. Owners of electric vehicles and owners of state, county, or local government vehicles are exempt from this fee. The Office of the Illinois Secretary of State will deposit all fees into the Alternate Fuels Fund.

Highway EVSE Installation Requirements: The Illinois Department of Transportation must install at least one EVSE at each interstate highway rest area where electrical service will reasonably permit by Jan. 1, 2016, or as soon as possible thereafter. 

PEV Financing and Charging Rate Reduction: Illinois Electric Cooperative (Co-op) members are eligible for loan financing at 0.5 percent for 60 months or the purchase of new PEVs. Members must apply and be approved for financing before purchase. The Co-op also offers a PEV time-of-use electricity rate for residential customers who own PEV. 

Indiana

IN flagAll-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Duke Energy and NIPSCO’s customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates are available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted. 

Charging Incentive: NIPSCO’s IN-Charge Electric Vehicle Program offers a reduced rate for plug-in electric vehicle charging during off-peak hours for those enrolled in program. This program is in effect until Dec. 31, 2018.

Clean Vehicle Acquisition Requirements: Each state entity must purchase or lease a clean energy vehicle, unless the Indiana Department of Administration determines that the purchase or lease of the vehicle is inappropriate for its intended use, or the purchase or lease would cost 20 percent more than a comparable non-clean energy vehicle.

EV Charging Rate Incentive: Indianapolis Power & Light Company (IPL) offers special plug-in EV charging rates for residential and fleet customers who own a licensed electric or plug-in electric vehicle.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 1002 (2017) requires all electric vehicle owners to pay an annual fee of $150, effective January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2022.

Iowa

FlagAFV Acquisition Requirements: At least 10 percent of new light-duty vehicles purchased by institutions under the control of the state fleet director, including the Iowa Department of Transportation, Board of Directors of Community Colleges, Board of Regents, Commission for the Blind and Department of Corrections must be capable of operating on alternative fuels. 

Alternative Fuel Production Tax Credits: The High Quality Jobs Program offers state tax incentives to business projects for the production of biomass or alternative fuels. Incentives may include an investment tax credit equal to a percentage of the qualifying investment, amortized over five years; a refund of state sales, service, or use taxes paid to contractors or subcontractors during construction; an increase of the state’s refundable research activities credit; and a local property tax exemption of up to 100 percent of the value added to the property.

Residential EVSE Rebate: Alliant Energy offers a $500 rebate to residential customers who purchase and install Level 2 EVSE . The EVSE must be purchased and installed between Jan. 1, 2017, and Dec. 31, 2017. 

Workplace and Public EVSE Rebate: Alliant Energy offers a rebate to commercial and industrial customers who purchase and install Level 2 EVSE for use by their employees or the public. The rebate is $1,000 for the purchase of a single connector EVSE , and $1,500 for a dual connector EVSE . 

Kentucky

KY flagAll-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Duke Energy customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates are available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted. 

Louisiana

LA flagAlternative Fuel Vehicle and Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit: An income tax credit is available for 36 percent of the cost of converting or purchasing an alternative fuel vehicle or constructing an alternative fueling station. Alternatively, a tax credit of 7.2 percent of the cost of the motor vehicle, up to $1,500 is available for AFV s registered in the state.

Maine

ME flagProvision for Establishment of Clean Fuel Vehicle Insurance Incentives: An insurer may credit or refund any portion of the premium charged for an insurance policy on a clean fuel vehicle in order to encourage its policyholders to use clean fuel vehicles, as long as insurance premiums on other vehicles are not increased to fund these credits or refunds. Clean fuels include, but are not limited to, natural gas, propane, hydrogen, alcohol fuels containing not less than 85 percent alcohol by volume, and electricity.

Maryland

MD flagAll-Electric Vehicle Rebate: Delmarva Power, Baltimore Gas and Electric Company, and Pepco customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates were available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted.

EVSE Rebate: Between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2020, rebates range from $700 to $5,000, for 4-0 percent of the costs of acquiring and installing qualified EVSE . Maryland Energy Administration (MEA) requires that applicants demonstrate compliance with state, local, and/or federal law that applies to the installation or operation of qualified EVSE . Total funding for each fiscal year will not exceed $1.2 million. This incentive was extended through 2020 on May 4, 2017.

HOV Lane Exemption: Qualified alternative fuel vehicles may use designated HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle. Qualified PEVs must have a maximum speed capability of at least 65 miles per hour. To operate in HOV lanes, PEV owners must obtain a permit, not to exceed $20, from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). Each year the MVA and the State Highway Administration must report PEV use in HOV lanes to the governor. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019. 

PEV Charging Rate Incentive: Baltimore Gas and Electric Company (BGE) offers a time-of-use (TOU) rate for BGE residential customers who purchase or lease a PEV. The TOU rate, Schedule EV, applies to the energy used for the entire residence during a billing period. Participation requires a meter capable of measuring TOU data. 

PEV Charging Rate Incentive: Pepco offers a time-of-use rate to all qualified Pepco residential customers in Maryland who own or lease a PEV. 

PEV Tax Credit: Effective July 1, 2017, qualified PEV purchasers may apply for a tax credit against the imposed excise tax. The tax credit is limited to one vehicle per individual and 10 vehicles per business entity. Qualified vehicles must not have a total purchase price exceeding $60,000, be purchased on or after July 1, 2017, not be modified from original manufacturer specifications, among other requirements. Vehicles purchased new and titled for the first time between July 1, 2017, and July 1, 2020, are eligible for a credit up to $3,000, calculated as $100 per kWh of battery capacity.

ZEV State Fleet Goal: State agencies must increase the number of ZEV acquisitions in light-duty fleets to at least 25 percent of annual fleet purchases by 2025. To the extent feasible, ZEV acquisitions should increase by 3 percent each year from fiscal year (FY) 2016 through FY 2020, so that by FY 2020 at least 15 percent of annual light-duty fleet purchases are ZEVs. The state fleet must annually report ZEV purchases to the governor, the Maryland Energy Administration, and the Maryland Department of the Environment. 

Massachusetts

MA flagAFV and Infrastructure Grants: The Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources’ Clean Vehicle Project provides grant funding for public and private fleets to purchase AFV s and infrastructure, as well as idle reduction technology.

EV Emissions Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state motor vehicle emissions inspections.

PEV and EVSE Grants: The Massachusetts Electric Vehicle Incentive Program (MassEVIP) provides grants for the purchase or lease of qualified PEVs, zero emission electric motorcycles (ZEMs) and Level 2 EVSE . Grants are available for up to $7,500 for the purchase or lease of a PEV, up to $13,500 for the purchase or lease of Level 2 EVSE , and up to $750 for the purchase or lease of a ZEM. Eligible applicants include local governments, public universities and colleges, and state agencies. 

PEV Discounts: Mass Energy’s Drive Green with Mass Energy program provides discounts on qualified PEVs purchased or leased from participating dealerships. The discount program is available to all consumers, including those that are not in Mass Energy’s service territory.

PEV Rebates: The Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources has a program called Massachusetts Offers Rebates for Electric Vehicles (MOR-EV), which offers rebates of up to $2,500 to customers purchasing or leasing PEVs or zero emission motorcycles. 

Public EVSE Requirements: Owners and operators of public EVSE that require payment must provide payment options that allow access by the public. In addition, payment should not require users to pay a subscription fee or obtain a membership of any kind; however, required fees may be conditional on such memberships. Owners and operators can impose reasonable restrictions on EVSE use, such as limiting access to visitors of the business. In addition, owners and operators of public EVSE must provide the location, hours of operation, payment, and characteristics of each EVSE for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center. 

State Hybrid Electric Vehicle (HEV) and AFV Acquisition Requirements: When purchasing new motor vehicles, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts must purchase HEVs or AFVs to the maximum extent feasible and consistent with the ability of such vehicles to perform their intended functions. HEVs and AFV s must be acquired at a rate of at least 5 percent annually for all new motor vehicle purchases so that not less than 50 percent of the motor vehicles the Commonwealth owns and operates will be HEVs or AFVs by 2018. State fleets must also acquire AFVs according to the requirements of the Energy Policy Act (EPAct) of 1992 and the Massachusetts Office of Vehicle Management must approve any light-duty vehicle acquisition. All agencies must purchase the most economical, fuel-efficient, and low emission vehicles appropriate to their mission.

Workplace EVSE Grants: The Massachusetts Electric Vehicle Incentive Program (MassEVIP) provides grants for 50 percent of the cost of Level 1 or Level 2 workplace EVSE, up to $25,000. Eligible applicants include employers with 15 or more employees in a non-residential place of business. 

ZEV Parking Space Regulations: A city or town may restrict certain parking areas for ZEVs, which includes all-electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, and fuel cell vehicles.

Michigan

MI flagAlternative Fuel Development Property Tax Exemption: A tax exemption may apply to industrial property that is used for, among other purposes, high-technology activities or the creation or synthesis of biodiesel fuel. High-technology activities include those related to advanced vehicle technologies such as electric, hybrid electric, or alternative fuel vehicles and their components. To qualify for the tax exemption, an industrial facility must obtain an exemption certificate for the property from the Michigan State Tax Commission.

EVSE Rebate: Indiana Michigan Power provides rebates of up to $2,500 to residential customers who purchase or lease a new PEV and install a Level 2 EVSE with a separate meter. Customers must also sign up for the Indiana Michigan Power PEV time-of-use rate. The rebate is available to the first 250 qualified customers who submit a completed application.

PEV Charging Rate Reduction: Indiana Michigan Power, Consumers Energy, and DTE Energy offer a special time-of-use rate option to residential customers who own a qualified PEV. DTE Energy also provides a flat rate option for $45.65 per month for each PEV.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §257.801(2) and H.B. 4736 (2015), beginning on Jan. 1, 2017, impose an annual $47.50 fee on hybrid vehicles up to 8,000 pounds and $117.50 for hybrid vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds. Also includes an annual fee of $135 for electric vehicles under 8,000 pounds and $235 for vehicles over 8,000 pounds. These fees are indexed to the gasoline tax.

Vehicle Inspection Exemption: Dedicated AFVs powered by compressed natural gas, propane, electricity, or any other source as defined by the Michigan Department of Transportation are exempt from emissions inspection requirements.

Minnesota

MN flagEV Charging Tariff: Each public utility selling electricity for retail must file a tariff with the Minnesota PUC to allow a customer to purchase electricity solely for the purpose of charging a PEV. The tariff must include either a time-of-day or off-peak rate, allow the customer to purchase electricity from the utility’s current mix of energy supply sources or from entirely renewable energy sources, and be available to the residential customer class.

EV Rebate: Dakota Electric offers a $500 rebate to residential customers toward the installation of a qualified Level 1 or Level 2 EV , installed on or after Jan. 1, 2016. EV must be controlled on an off-peak rate and must be installed within Dakota Electric’s service area. 

PEV Charging Rate Reduction: Dakota Electric members enrolled in the ChargeWise pilot program receive a reduced rate for the electricity used to charge PEVs between specified off-peak hours. Installation of a ChargeWise circuit is required. Connexus Energy also offers a reduced rate for charging PEVs.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: H.F. 3 (2017), effective Jan. 1, 2018, creates an additional annual surcharge of $75 for electric vehicles.

State Agency Vehicle Procurement and Management Requirement: When purchasing a motor vehicle, a state agency must select one that is capable of being powered by cleaner fuels, including electricity and natural gas, if the total life cycle cost of ownership is less than or comparable to that of a gasoline-powered vehicle. A committee of representatives from the Minnesota Departments of Administration, Agriculture, Commerce, Natural Resources, and Transportation, as well as the Pollution Control Agency, will implement a state fleet reporting and information management system. The committee will submit findings to the governor and appropriate legislative committees on a bi-yearly basis with recommendations for goals, directives or legislative initiatives to meet these objectives.

Mississippi

MS flagFuel-Efficient and Alternative Fuel Vehicle Use: The State Bureau of Fleet Management (Bureau), operated through the Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration, coordinates and promotes fuel efficiency when state agencies purchase, lease, rent, acquire, use, maintain, and dispose of vehicles. The Bureau encourages state agencies to use fuel-efficient or hybrid electric vehicles as appropriate and, when feasible, use alternative fuels, including ethanol, biodiesel, natural gas, or electricity, to operate the vehicles. At least 75 percent of all vehicles titled under the Bureau must have a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency estimated fuel economy rating of at least 40 miles per gallon for highway driving.

Missouri

MO flagAlternative Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit: Between Jan. 1, 2015 and Jan. 1, 2018, S.B. 729 (2014) provides an income tax credit for the cost of installing a qualified alternative fueling station. The credit provides up to $1,500 for a residential applicant and the lesser of $20,000 or 20 percent of total costs for the commercial installation of qualified refueling property.

AFV Acquisition and Alternative Fuel Use Requirements: A state agency that operates a vehicle fleet consisting of 15 vehicles or more must ensure that at least 50 percent of new vehicles purchased over a defined biennial period are capable of operating using an alternative fuel. Excess acquisitions of AFVs may be credited towards future biennial goals. If a state agency fails to meet a biennial acquisition goal, purchases of any non-AFVs are not permitted until the goals are met or an exemption or goal reduction has been granted. In addition, 30 percent of the fuel purchased annually for use in operating state fleet vehicles must be alternative fuels.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: S.B. 619 (1998), codified as Mo. Ann. Stat. §142.869, requires owners of certain alternative fuel vehicles, including those operating on electricity, to pay an annual decal fee. The fee for passenger motor vehicles is $75; non-passenger motor vehicles are subject to increased fees as calculated based on the type of vehicle.

Vehicle Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity, including low-speed vehicles, hydrogen, or fuels other than gasoline that are exempt from motor vehicle emissions inspection under federal regulation, are exempt from state emissions inspection requirements.

Montana

MT flagAFV Conversion Tax Credit: Businesses or individuals are eligible for an income tax credit of up to 50 percent of the equipment and labor costs for converting vehicles to operate using alternative fuels. Qualified alternative fuels are compressed and liquefied natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas (propane), hydrogen, electricity, and fuels containing at least 85 percent ethanol, methanol, ether, or another alcohol. The maximum credit is $500 for the conversion of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds (lbs.) or less and $1,000 for vehicles with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs. The credit is only available for the year the business or individual converts the vehicle. An alternative fuel seller may not receive a credit for converting its own vehicles to operate on the alternative fuel it sells.

Nebraska

NE flagAFV and Fueling Infrastructure Loans: The Nebraska Energy Office administers the Dollar and Energy Saving Loan Program, which provides low-cost loans for a variety of alternative fuel projects, including the replacement of conventional vehicles with AFVs , the purchase of new AFVs , the conversion of conventional vehicles to operate on alternative fuels, and the construction or purchase of a fueling station or equipment. The maximum loan amount is $750,000 per borrower, and the interest rate is 5 percent or less.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: L.B. 289 (2011), codified as Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-3,191, requires a $75 annual fee for the registration of an alternative fuel vehicle that operates on electricity or any other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the state motor fuel tax laws.

Nevada

NV flagAFV Acquisition Requirement: Fleets containing 50 or more vehicles that are owned, leased, or operated by the state, a state agency, or a political subdivision of the state in a county with a population of 100,000 or more must acquire AFVs or U.S. Environmental Protection Agency certified Ultra Low Emission Vehicles (ULEVs). Covered fleets are required to purchase either AFVs or certified ULEVs for 90 percent of new vehicles obtained. A fleet may meet the acquisition requirements by converting existing or newly acquired vehicles to operate on alternative fuels.

AFV and HEV Inspection Exemption: Alternative fuel vehicles are exempt from emissions testing requirements. A new HEV is exempt from emissions inspection testing for the first five model years, after which the vehicle must comply with emissions inspection testing requirements on an annual basis.

HOV Lane Exemption: The Nevada Department of Transportation may establish a program allowing federally certified low-emission, energy-efficient, and alternative fuel vehicles to operate in HOV lanes regardless of the number of passengers.

Parking Fee Exemption: All local authorities with public metered parking areas within their jurisdiction must establish a program for AFVs to park in these areas without paying a fee.

PEV Charging Rate Incentive: NV Energy offers discounted electricity rates to residential customers who charge EVs or PEVs during off-peak hours.

New Hampshire

NH flagState Agency PEV and EV Procurement: The state must pursue PEV procurement opportunities for use in the state fleet and must install EV for use by state agencies. Where feasible and recommended by the State Government Energy Committee, state offices with more than 50 employees may also make EV available for employees, as long as energy cost is reimbursed by users.

New Jersey

NJ flagLow Emission or Alternative Fuel Bus Acquisition Requirement: All buses purchased by the New Jersey Transit Corporation (NJTC) must be: 1) equipped with improved pollution controls that reduce particulate emissions or 2) powered by a fuel other than conventional diesel. Qualifying vehicles include compressed natural gas vehicles, hybrid electric vehicles, fuel cell vehicles, vehicles operating on biodiesel or ultra-low sulfur fuel, or vehicles operating on any other bus fuel approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

PEV Toll Incentive: Vehicles eligible for the New York Clean Pass Program, including PEVs and hybrid electric vehicles, receive a discounted toll rate on all Port Authority of New York and New Jersey off-peak hour crossings. Vehicles must register with E-ZPass New York. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019.

ZEV Tax Exemption: ZEVs sold, rented or leased in New Jersey are exempt from state sales and use tax.

New Mexico

NM flagAFV and HEV Acquisition Requirements: A minimum of 75 percent of state government and educational institution fleet vehicles purchased must be HEVs or bi-fuel or dedicated AFVs . Vehicles must meet or exceed the federal corporate average fuel economy standards. Certified law enforcement pursuit vehicles and emergency vehicles are exempt from this requirement. The New Mexico Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department may grant additional exemptions based on the availability and suitability of vehicles, as well as fuel availability and cost. Up to $5 million is authorized for a revolving loan fund for AFV acquisitions by state agencies, political subdivisions, and educational institutions. The maximum amount of a loan per vehicle must not exceed the actual cost of acquiring the vehicle or $3,000, whichever is less. 

Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicle System Manufacturing Incentive: The Alternative Energy Product Manufacturers Tax Credit is a credit against combined reporting taxes (gross receipts, compensating, and withholding) for qualified manufacturers of alternative energy products, which includes hydrogen and fuel cell vehicle systems, and electric and hybrid electric vehicles. The credit is limited to 5 percent of qualifying expenditures, and manufacturers must fulfill job creation requirements to be eligible. Qualified manufacturers must apply for and receive approval from the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department before they may claim the credit.

Alternative Fuel Excise Tax Exemption: Alternative fuel distributed by or used for U.S. government, state government, or Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo purposes is exempt from the state excise tax.

New York

NY flagAlternative Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit: An income tax credit is available for 50 percent of the cost of alternative fueling infrastructure, up to $5,000. Qualifying infrastructure includes electric vehicle supply equipment and equipment to dispense fuel that is 85 percent or more natural gas, propane, or hydrogen. Unused credits may be carried over into future tax years. The credit expires Dec. 31, 2017.

EV Emissions Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state motor vehicle emissions inspections.

Heavy-Duty Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicle Purchase Vouchers: The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) is providing incentives for alternative fuel trucks and buses and diesel emission controls. Incentives are released on a staggered schedule and include: Vouchers for public, private, and non-profit fleets for 80 percent of the incremental cost, up to $60,000, for the purchase or lease of all-electric Class 3 through 8 trucks operating 70 percent of the time and garaged in any nonattainment or maintenance area of New York State; Vouchers for private and non-profit fleets for 80 percent of the incremental cost, up to $40,000 for the purchase of compressed natural gas, hybrid electric and all-electric Class 3 through 8 trucks operating 70 percent of the time and garaged in New York City; and Vouchers for private and non-profit fleets that cover up to 80 percent of the cost of purchasing and installing emission reduction equipment for Classes 3 through 8 diesel vehicles that are operated 70 percent of the time and garaged in New York City.

HOV Lane Exemption: Through the Clean Pass Program, qualified vehicles may use the Long Island Expressway HOV lanes regardless of the number of passengers in the vehicle. Vehicles must display the Clean Pass vehicle sticker, which is available from the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. Drivers of qualified vehicles may also receive a 10 percent discount on established E-ZPass accounts with proof of registration. This exemption expires September 30, 2019.

PEV/HEV Toll Discount Program: Vehicles eligible for the New York Clean Pass Program, including PEVs and hybrid electric vehicles, receive a discounted toll rate on all Port Authority of New York and New Jersey off-peak hour crossings. Vehicles must register with E-ZPass New York. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019.

PEV Rebate Program: The NYSERDA’s Drive Clean Rebate program provides rebates of up to $2,000 for the purchase or lease of a new eligible plug-in electric vehicle if the vehicle meets certain standards.

PEV Voluntary Time of Use Rate Reduction: Under the voluntary TOU rate, residential Con Edison customers will pay a reduced price for electricity used during the designated off-peak period. Customers who register a PEV with Con Edison and are participating in the voluntary TOU rate are guaranteed to pay no more than the standard electric rate for one year after registration with Con Edison. 

North Carolina

NC flagAFV Acquisition Goal: North Carolina established a goal that at least 75 percent of new or replacement state government light-duty cars and trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or less must be AFVs or low emission vehicles. 

Alternative Fuel and AFV Fund: The North Carolina State Energy Office administers the Energy Policy Act (EPAct) Credit Banking and Selling Program, which enables the state to generate funds from the sale of EPAct 1992 credits. The funds that EPAct credit sales generate are deposited into the Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund (Fund) for state agencies to offset the incremental costs of purchasing biodiesel blends of at least 20 percent (B20) or ethanol blends of at least 85 percent (E85), developing alternative fueling infrastructure, and purchasing AFVs and hybrid electric vehicles. Funds are distributed to state departments, institutions, and agencies in proportion to the number of EPAct credits generated by each.

Alternative Fuel Tax Exemption: The retail sale, use, storage, and consumption of alternative fuels is exempt from the state retail sales and use tax.

Alternative Fuel Use and Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Requirements: State-owned vehicle fleets must implement petroleum displacement plans to increase the use of alternative fuels and fuel-efficient vehicles. Reductions may be met by petroleum displaced through the use of biodiesel, ethanol, other alternative fuels, the use of hybrid electric vehicles, other fuel-efficient or low emission vehicles, or additional methods.

HOV Lane Exemption: Qualified plug-in electric vehicles, dedicated natural gas vehicles, and fuel cell electric vehicles may use North Carolina HOV lanes, regardless of the number of occupants. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019. 

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: N.C. Gen. Stat. §20-87(13) and S.B. 402 (2013) require electric vehicle owners to pay an annual registration fee of $100. H.B. 97 (2015) increased the electric vehicle registration fee to $130.

Vehicle Inspection Exemption: Qualified PEVs and Fuel Cell Electric Vehicles (FCEVs ) are exempt from state emissions inspection requirements.

Ohio

OH flagAlternative Fuel and Fueling Infrastructure Incentives: The Ohio Development Services Agency administers the Alternative Fuel Transportation Program (Program), which provides financial assistance to businesses, non-profit organizations, school districts, and local governments for the purchase and installation of alternative fueling, blending, and distribution facilities or terminals.

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Acquisition and Fuel Use Requirements: With the exception of law enforcement vehicles, all newly acquired state agency vehicles must be capable of using an alternative fuel and must use the relevant alternative fuel if it is reasonably priced and available. Alternative fuel is defined as E85, fuel blends containing at least 20 percent biodiesel (B20), natural gas, propane, hydrogen, electricity, or any other fuel that the U.S. Department of Energy has determined is substantially not petroleum. 

Diesel Emissions Reduction Grant Program: The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency administers a Diesel Emissions Reduction Grant Program for the purpose of reducing emissions from diesel engines in trucks, school and transit buses, marine fleets, and locomotives, as well as highway construction equipment. To be eligible for funding, fleets must operate at least 65 percent of the time in Ohio counties that have been designated nonattainment or maintenance for particulate matter (PM) 2.5 and/or ozone. Private fleets are eligible, but they must establish a public-private partnership with a government organization that is eligible for CMAQ funds in order to apply for funding. A minimum 20 percent non-state and non-federal funding match is required.

Emissions Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity, propane, or natural gas are exempt from state vehicle emissions inspections after receiving a one-time verification inspection.

Oklahoma

OK flagAccess to State Alternative Fueling Stations: The Oklahoma Office of Management and Enterprise Services (OMES) Fleet Management Division may construct, install, acquire, operate, and provide alternative fueling infrastructure for use by state agencies and local government and for use by the public in areas of the state where public access to alternative fuel infrastructure is not readily available. OMES must discontinue public access to their fueling stations if a privately-owned alternative fueling station opens within a five-mile radius.

AFV Acquisition Requirements: All school and government fleets may convert their vehicles to operate on alternative fuels, and all school districts should consider purchasing only vehicles able to operate on alternative fuels. School and government vehicles capable of operating on an alternative fuel must use the fuel whenever a fueling station is located within a five-mile radius of the respective school district or government department and the price of the alternative fuel is cost competitive with the displaced conventional fuel. If school and government vehicles must be fueled outside the five-mile radius and no fueling station is reasonably available, the school and government vehicles are exempt from this requirement. 

AFV Low-Interest Loans: Oklahoma has a private loan program with a 3 percent interest rate for the cost of converting private fleets to operate on alternative fuels and for the incremental cost of purchasing an original equipment manufacturer AFV. The loan repayment has a maximum six-year period. 

Alternative Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit: For tax years beginning before Jan. 1, 2020, a tax credit is available for up to 75 percent of the cost of installing commercial alternative fueling infrastructure. Eligible alternative fuels include natural gas, propane, and electricity. The infrastructure must be new and must not have been previously installed or used to fuel alternative fuel vehicles. A tax credit is also available for up to 50 percent of the cost of installing a residential compressed natural gas fueling system, up to $2,500. The tax credit may be carried forward for up to five years. 

Oregon

OR flagAFV Acquisition, Fuel Use, and Emissions Reductions Requirements: All state agencies and transit districts must purchase AFVs and use alternative fuels to operate those vehicles to the maximum extent possible, except in regions where it is not economically or logistically possible to fuel an AFV. Each state agency must develop and report a greenhouse gas reduction baseline and determine annual reduction targets. Reports to the Oregon Department of Administrative Services must include the number of purchases or leases of AFVs or AFV conversions and the quantity of each type of alternative fuel used annually by state agency fleets. 

AFV Loan Program: The Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE) AFV Revolving Fund provides loans to public agencies, private entities, and tribes for the incremental cost of AFVs and AFV conversions. Priority will be given to converting petroleum-powered vehicles to AFVs . The loan recipient may be responsible for a fee of 0.1 percent of the loan, up to $2,500, as well as fees to cover the cost of application processing. ODOE may set the interest rate anywhere from 0 percent to the current market rate, with a loan term up to six years. Eligible vehicles include those powered by electricity, biofuel, gasoline and alcohol blends with at least 20 percent alcohol content, hydrogen, natural gas, propane, or any other fuel ODOE approves that produces lower exhaust emissions or is more energy efficient than gasoline or diesel. 

AFV Parking Space Regulation: An individual is not allowed to park a motor vehicle within any parking space specifically designated for public parking and fueling of AFVs unless the motor vehicle is an AFV fueled by electricity, natural gas, methanol, propane, gasoline blended with at least 85 percent ethanol (E85), or other fuel the Oregon Department of Energy approves.

Alternative Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit for Businesses: Business owners and others may be eligible for a tax credit of 35 percent of eligible costs for qualified alternative fuel infrastructure projects. This credit is available through Dec. 31, 2018.

Alternative Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit for Residents: Through the Residential Energy Tax Credits program, qualified residents may receive a tax credit for 25 percent of alternative fuel infrastructure project costs, up to $750. This credit is available through Dec. 31, 2017.

Alternative Fuel Loans: The Oregon Department of Energy administers the State Energy Loan Program (SELP) which offers low-interest loans for qualified projects. Eligible alternative fuel projects include fuel production facilities, dedicated feedstock production, fueling infrastructure, and fleet vehicles. Loan recipients must complete a loan application and pay a loan application fee.

Electricity Provider and PEV Charging Rate Regulations: Regulated electric utility tariffs must explicitly permit customers to resell electricity for use as a motor fuel, as long as the entity is not considered a public utility. Additionally, each regulated electric utility must provide customers with a choice of flat rate or time of use electricity rates specific to PEV owners.

EV Rebate: Cars with batteries up to 10 kilowatt-hours will receive a $1,500 point-of-purchase rebates for battery-electric or plug-in hybrid vehicles whose base price is $50,000 or less. Those with larger batteries will get the full $2,500. An additional “Charge Ahead” fund is dedicated to providing up to an additional $2,500 to incentivize low- and moderate-income drivers who replace (and scrap) a car that is at least 20 years old with an electric vehicle—new or used.

Pollution Control Equipment Exemption: Dedicated original equipment manufacturer natural gas and electric vehicles are not required to be equipped with a certified pollution control system.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 2017 (2017) establishes, beginning Jan. 1, 2020, an additional vehicle registration fee of $110 for electric vehicles.

State Agency EVSE Installation: State agencies may install publicly-accessible EVSE on their premises or contract with a vendor to do so. The Oregon Department of Administrative Services may install up to 10 EVSE over a two-year period. Other state agencies may install five EVSE every two years. Additional EVSE are allowable if the agency secures a grant for the installation. A state agency may establish and adjust prices for charging, provided that the price does not subsidize the operations of a private entity or the cost of electricity or substantially exceed the costs the agency incurs to make the electricity available. 

Pennsylvania

PA flagAll-Electric Vehicle Rebate: PECO Energy customers and employees are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 Nissan Leaf at participating dealerships. Rebates were available through June 30, 2017, or until funds are exhausted.

AFV and HEV Funding: The Alternative Fuels Incentive Grant (AFIG) Program provides financial assistance for qualified projects and information on alternative fuels, including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles. The AFIG Program also offers rebates to assist eligible residents with the incremental cost of the purchase of new AFVs , including all-electric vehicles (EVs), plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), natural gas vehicles (NGVs), and propane vehicles. The rebate amounts are $1,750 for qualified EVs and $1,000 for qualified PHEVs, NGVs, and propane vehicles. Rebates are available until 250 rebates are disbursed or June 30, 2017, whichever occurs first.

Rhode Island

RI flagAFV and ZEV Acquisition Requirements: To reduce fuel consumption and pollution emissions, and purchase vehicles that provide the best value on a life cycle cost basis, the state must ensure that at least 75 percent of state motor vehicle acquisitions are AFVs , and the remaining 25 percent must be HEVs to the greatest extent possible; by 2025, 25 percent of state motor vehicle acquisitions must be ZEVs; all new light-duty trucks in the state fleet must achieve a minimum city fuel economy of 19 miles per gallon (mpg) and achieve at least a Low Emission Vehicle certification, and all new passenger vehicles in the state fleet must achieve a minimum city fuel economy of 23 mpg; and all state agencies must purchase the most economical, fuel-efficient, and lowest emission vehicles appropriate to meet requirements and discourage the purchase of sport utility vehicles, among other requirements.

AFV Tax Exemption: The town of Warren may allow excise tax exemptions of up to $100 for qualified AFVs registered in Warren.

EV Emissions Inspection Exemption: Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state emissions control inspections.

EVSE and PEV Rebates: The >Charge Up! Program provides rebates to state and municipal agencies for the purchase and installation of publicly accessible Level 2 or DC fast chargers. Agencies are eligible for up to $60,000 in incentives for EVSE that are installed and operational on or after July 1, 2016. Agencies that install EVSE also qualify for up to $15,000 to support the purchase or lease of a new PEV acquired on or after July 1, 2016, as part of their public sector fleet. 

PEV Discounts: People’s Power & Light (PP&L)’s Drive Green with PP&L program provides discounts on qualified PEVs purchased or leased from participating dealerships. The discount program is available to all consumers, including those that are not in PP&L’s service territory. 

PEV Rebates: The Driving Rhode Island to Vehicle Electrification (DRIVE) rebate program offers rebates of up to $2,500 for the purchase or lease of qualified PEVs. Rebates are offered on a sliding scale based on battery capacity, providing $2,500 for any vehicle with a battery capacity of 18 kilowatt-hours (kWh) or greater, $1,500 for any vehicle with a battery capacity between 7 and 18 kWh, and $500 for any vehicle with a battery capacity less than 7 kWh. Effective July 10, 2017, the DRIVE program was suspended due to the unavailability of program funding.

South Carolina

SC flagPEV Cost Recovery: A public electric utility may seek recovery of the costs associated with programs and resources related to distributed energy resources and load management technologies, including PEV charging, as part of a rate case filing through the South Carolina Public Service Commission. 

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 3516 (2017) requires owners of vehicles operated solely on electricity, hydrogen, or fuel other than motor fuel to pay a $120 biennial road usage fee. This fee is in addition to standard vehicle registration fees.

State Agency Preference for Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicles: State agencies purchasing motor vehicles must give preference to hybrid, plug-in hybrid electric, all-electric, biodiesel, hydrogen, fuel cell, or flexible fuel vehicles when the performance, quality, and anticipated life cycle costs are comparable to other available motor vehicles.

Tennessee

TN flagHOV Lane Exemption: Qualified alternative fuel vehicles may use designated HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019. 

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 534 (2017) requires electric vehicle owners to pay an annual fee of $100. Low-speed and medium-speed vehicles are exempt from the fee.

Texas

TX flagAlternative Fueling Infrastructure Grants: The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) administers the Alternative Fueling Facilities Program, which provides grants for 50 percent of eligible costs, up to $600,000, to construct, reconstruct, or acquire a facility to store, compress, or dispense alternative fuels, including electricity, in Texas air quality nonattainment areas.

Alternative Fuel Use and Vehicle Acquisition Requirements: State agency fleets with more than 15 vehicles, excluding emergency and law enforcement vehicles, may not purchase or lease a motor vehicle unless the vehicle uses compressed or liquefied natural gas, propane, ethanol or fuel blends of at least 85 percent ethanol (E85), methanol or fuel blends of at least 85 percent methanol (M85), biodiesel or fuel blends of at least 20 percent biodiesel (B20), or electricity (including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles). Covered state agency fleets must consist of at least 50 percent of vehicles that are able to operate on alternative fuels and use these fuels at least 80 percent of the time the vehicles are driven. 

Clean Fleet Grants: TCEQ administers the Texas Clean Fleet Program (TCFP) as part of the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan. TCFP encourages owners of fleets containing diesel vehicles to permanently remove the vehicles from the road and replace them with AFVs or HEVs. Grants are available to fleets to offset the incremental cost of such replacement projects. An entity that operates a fleet of at least 75 vehicles, including at least 20 diesel-powered vehicles, and that commits to placing 20 or more qualifying vehicles in service for use entirely in Texas during a given calendar year may be eligible. Qualifying AFV or HEV replacements must reduce emissions of nitrogen oxides or other pollutants by at least 25 percent as compared to baseline levels and must replace vehicles that meet operational and fuel usage requirements. Neighborhood electric vehicles do not qualify. This program ended Aug. 31, 2017, and is restricted to certain counties.

EVSE Incentive: Austin Energy customers who own a plug-in electric vehicle are eligible for a rebate of 50 percent or up to $1,500 of the cost to purchase and install a qualified Level 2 EVSE .

Vehicle Replacement Vouchers: The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality administers the AirCheckTexas, Drive a Clean Machine program, which provides vouchers of $3,500 to qualified individuals for the purchase of hybrid, electric, or natural gas vehicles.

Utah

UT flagAFV and Fueling Infrastructure Grants and Loans: The Utah Clean Fuels and Vehicle Technology Grant and Loan Program, funded through the Clean Fuels and Vehicle Technology Fund, provides grants and loans to assist businesses and government entities to include: up to 50 percent of the incremental cost of purchasing original equipment manufactured clean fuel vehicles; up to 50 percent of the cost of converting vehicles to a cleaner burning fuel, and the cost of fueling equipment for public/private sector business and government vehicles (grants require federal and non-federal matching funds).

AFV Inspection and Permit: The Utah State Tax Commission (Commission) may require vehicles operating on clean fuels to be inspected for safe operation. In addition, clean fuel vehicles that have a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 26,000 pounds or have more than three axels are required to obtain a special fuel user permit from the Commission. Clean fuels are defined as propane, natural gas, electricity, and hydrogen. 

Alternative Fuel Tax Exemption: Propane, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, electricity and hydrogen used to operate motor vehicles are exempt from state fuel taxes, but subject to a special fuel tax at the rate of three-nineteenths of the conventional motor fuel tax.

Alternative Fuel Use and Vehicle Acquisition Requirement: By Aug. 30, 2018, at least 50 percent of new or replacement light-duty state agency vehicles must meet Bin 2 emissions standards established in Title 40 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, or be propelled to a significant extent by electricity, natural gas, propane, hydrogen, or biodiesel. 

Free Electric Vehicle Parking: Free metered parking in Salt Lake City for electric vehicles displaying a Clean Air license plate.

HOV Lane Exemption: Qualified vehicles may use designated HOV lanes  regardless of the number of occupants in the vehicle. Vehicles must display a special clean fuel decal issued by the Utah Department of Transportation. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019.

PEV Infrastructure Bond Authorization: Interlocal entities, such as counties, local districts, and military installations, are authorized to issue bonds for PEV charging infrastructure.

Provision for Establishment of Alternative Fuel Use Mandate: The Utah Air Quality Board may require fleets that own 10 or more vehicles capable of being fueled at a central location to use clean fuels if such a mandate is necessary to meet national air quality standards. Clean fuels are defined as propane, compressed natural gas, and electricity. This program expires July 1, 2019. 

Qualified Heavy-Duty AFV Tax Credit: Qualified taxpayers are eligible for a tax credit for the purchase of a qualified heavy-duty AFV. Qualifying fuels include natural gas, electricity, and hydrogen. Each qualified heavy-duty AFV is eligible for tax credits ranging from $25,000 in 2017 to $15,000 in 2020. At least 50 percent of the qualified vehicle’s miles must be driven in the state. A single taxpayer may not claim credits for more than 10 AFVs annually or a total annual amount of $500,000. If more than 30 percent of the total available tax credits in a single year have not been claimed by May 1, a taxpayer may apply for credits on an additional eight AFVs . Up to 25 percent of the tax credits are reserved for taxpayers with small fleets of less than 40 vehicles. This credit expires Dec. 31, 2020. 

Vermont

VT flag

AFV Acquisition Requirements: The Vermont Department of Buildings and General Services must consider AFVs when purchasing vehicles for state use, provided that the alternative fuel is suitable for the vehicle’s operation, is available in the region where the vehicle will be used, and is competitively priced with conventional fuels.

EV Rebate: Burlington Electric Department (BED) customers are eligible for a $1,200 rebate on the purchase or lease of a new qualifying EV on or after May 30, 2017. Vehicles must have a manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) of less than $50,000 and be registered in Burlington, VT. Rebates are available through Dec. 31, 2017. 

PEV Credit: Vermont Electric Coop (VEC) offers a $250 bill credit to members who purchase a new or used PEV. Members who lease a PEV are eligible for an annual bill credit of $50 for each year of the lease. Credits are available through Dec. 31, 2017.

State Agency Energy Plan Transportation Requirements: The Vermont Agency of Administration developed and oversees the implementation of the State Agency Energy Plan (Plan). The Agency of Administration must modify the Plan as necessary and re-adopt it on or before January 15 of each fifth year. As specified in the 2016 Plan, the Vermont Agency of Transportation must continue to use 5 percent biodiesel (B5) in its fleet of heavy-duty vehicles. The Vermont Department of Buildings and General Services will increase its deployment of plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs) to comprise at least 25 percent of its light-duty fleet by 2025 and install electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), as necessary. All state agencies must install EVSE and increase their use of PEVs to a level that will displace 10 percent of their gasoline use by 2020.

Virginia

WA flagAftermarket EV Conversion Regulations: Any motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, that has been modified to replace the internal combustion engine with an electric propulsion system must be titled by and registered with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as a converted EV. DMV converted EV registration requires certification by a certified Virginia safety inspector that the conversion to electric propulsion is complete and proof that the vehicle has passed a Virginia safety inspection. The inspector may charge a fee, not to exceed $40, in addition to any fee imposed for Virginia safety inspection.

AFVs and HEV Emissions Inspection Exemption: Alternative fuel and hybrid electric vehicles are exempt from emissions testing. Qualified HEVs with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency fuel economy ratings of at least 50 miles per gallon (city) are also exempt from the emissions inspection program unless remote sensing devices indicate the HEV may not meet current emissions standards. 

Authorization for PEV Charging Rate Incentives: The Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC) directs public utilities to evaluate time-differentiated rates and other incentives to encourage off-peak all-electric (EV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle charging. The SCC may authorize public utilities to conduct pilot programs to determine the feasibility and implications of offering off-peak rates and other incentives. Pilot programs may include voluntary load control options, rate structures with financial incentives, rebates, or other incentives that offset the cost of purchasing or installing electric vehicle supply equipment for users who elect off-peak rate structures. An electric utility that participates in an approved pilot program may be entitled to recover annually the costs of its participation in any pilot program conducted on or after Jan. 1, 2011. 

Government Incentive: The Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Transportation, offers up to $10,000 to state agencies and local governments for the incremental cost of new or converted AFVs. To be eligible, vehicles must comply with Buy America provisions or qualify for a waiver from the Federal Highway Administration, and must be garaged in areas of air quality nonattainment, as recognized by the federal Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) program. 

HOV Lane Exemption:  AFVs displaying the Virginia Clean Special Fuel license plate may use Virginia HOV lanes, regardless of the number of occupants. For HOV lanes serving the I-66 corridor, only registered vehicles displaying Clean Special Fuel license plates issued before July 1, 2011, are exempt from HOV lane requirements. For express lanes serving the I-95/I-395 corridor, registered vehicles displaying Clean Special Fuel license plates are not exempt from HOV lane occupancy requirements, but may use the lanes toll-free if equipped with an E-ZPass Flex set to “HOV” mode. Vehicles displaying Clean Special Fuel license plates are exempt from the Dulles Toll Road HOV lane requirements. The annual fee for Clean Special Fuel license plates is $25 in addition to the prescribed fee for commonwealth license plates. This exemption expires Sept. 30, 2019.  

PEV Infrastructure Authorization for School Boards: Beginning July 1, 2017, school boards may operate retail, fee-based PEV charging infrastructure on school property. Access during school hours must be restricted to employees, students, and authorized visitors only. 

Provision for AFV Tax Reduction: Local governments may reduce personal property taxes paid on AFVs, specifically vehicles that operate using natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas or propane, hydrogen, or electricity, including low-speed vehicles. 

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: S.B. 127 (2014, codified as Va. Code §58.1-2249(b), requires that alternative fuel vehicles and all-electric vehicles—hybrid vehicles are excluded—registered in the state pay an annual vehicle license tax of $64. If the jurisdiction receiving the revenues from this fee do not use the funds for transportation purposes, the fee within that jurisdiction will fall to $50 in subsequent years.

Washington

WA flagAFV Tax Exemption: New passenger cars, light-duty trucks, and medium-duty passenger vehicles that are dedicated alternative fuel vehicles are exempt from the state motor vehicle sales and use taxes. Qualified vehicles must meet the California motor vehicle emissions standards and comply with the rules of the Washington Department of Ecology. The sales tax exemption applies to up to $32,000 of a vehicle’s selling price or the total amount of lease payments made. If the original lessee purchased the leased vehicle before the exemptions expire, the exemption applies the total lease payments made plus the selling price of the leased vehicle, up to $32,000. The sales tax exemption expires July 1, 2019. A vehicle purchased or leased before July 1, 2019, is exempt from the use tax until it is retired or changes hands.

Alternative Fuel Commercial Vehicle Tax Credit: Businesses are eligible to receive tax credits for purchasing new alternative fuel commercial vehicles. Qualified commercial vehicles must be powered primarily by natural gas, propane, hydrogen, dimethyl ether, or electricity. Tax credit amounts vary based on gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and are up to 50 percent of the incremental cost, with maximum credit values ranging from $5,000 to $100,000. Modified vehicles are eligible for credits equal to 30 percent of the commercial vehicle conversion cost, up to $25,000. The converted vehicle must be less than two years old and have an odometer reading of fewer than 30,000 miles. Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, eligible converted vehicles must be less than ten years old and have an odometer reading of fewer than 450,000 miles. Each entity may claim up to $250,000 or credits for 25 vehicles per year. Credits may be earned between Jan. 1, 2016, and Jan. 1, 2021. All credits earned must be used in that calendar year or the subsequent year. Tax credits are available on a first-in-time basis and are subject to annual limits of $2 million per weight class.

Alternative Fuel Use Requirement: All state agencies must, to the extent practicable, use 100 percent biofuels or electricity to operate all publicly owned vehicles. Agencies may substitute natural gas or propane for electricity or biofuel if the Washington State Department of Commerce (Department) determines that electricity and biofuel are not reasonably available. Practicability and measures of compliance are defined in rules adopted by the Washington State Department of Commerce. In addition, effective June 1, 2018, all local government agencies must, to the extent practicable, use 100 percent biofuels or electricity to operate all publicly owned vehicles. 

EV Infrastructure and Battery Tax Exemptions: Public lands used for installing, maintaining, and operating EV infrastructure are exempt from leasehold excise taxes until Jan. 1, 2020. Additionally, the state sales and use taxes do not apply to PEV batteries; labor and services for installing, repairing, altering, or improving PEV batteries and EV infrastructure; and the sale of property used for EV infrastructure.

EVSE and Battery Exchange Station Regulations: State and local governments may lease land for installing, maintaining, and operating EVSE or electric vehicle battery exchange stations for up to 50 years for at least $1 per year. Additionally, the installation of battery charging and exchange stations is categorically exempt from the Washington Environmental Policy Act.

EVSE Return on Investment Incentive: Utilities may petition the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) for a rate of return of an additional 2 percent above the standard return on equity on EVSE installed for the benefit of ratepayers. The expenditures may not increase ratepayer costs more than 0.25 percent. 

Low Carbon Fuel and Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Acquisition Requirement: Washington state agencies must consider purchasing low carbon fuel vehicles or converting conventional vehicles to use low carbon fuels when financially comparable over the vehicle’s useful life. Low carbon fuels include hydrogen, biomethane, electricity, or natural gas blends of at least 90 percent. State agencies must achieve an average fuel economy of 36 miles per gallon for passenger vehicle fleets in motor pools and leased conventional vehicles. State agencies must also purchase low carbon fuel vehicles or, when purchasing new conventional vehicles, achieve an average fuel economy of 40 miles per gallon (mpg) for light-duty passenger vehicles and 27 mpg for light-duty vans and sport utility vehicles.

PEV Promotion and Infrastructure Development: Any regional transportation planning organization containing a county with a population greater than one million must collaborate with state and local governments to promote PEV use, invest in PEV charging infrastructure, and seek federal or private funding for these efforts. Collaborative planning efforts may include: 1) developing short- and long-term plans outlining how state, regional and local governments may construct electric vehicle supply equipment locations and ensure that the infrastructure can be electrically supported; 2) supporting public education and training programs on PEVs; 3) developing an implementation plan for counties with a population greater than 500,000 to have 10 percent of public and private parking spaces ready for PEV charging by Dec. 31, 2018; and 4) developing model ordinances and guidance for local governments for site assessment and installing PEV infrastructure. 

Vehicle Inspection Exemption: Alternative fuel and hybrid electric vehicles are exempt from emissions testing.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 2660 (2012), codified as Wash. Rev. Code §46.17.323, requires that electric vehicle owners pay an annual vehicle registration fee of $100. The fee will expire if the legislature imposes a vehicle miles traveled fee or tax in the state. H.B. 5897 (2015) increased the $100 fee to $150 for electric vehicles. The fee will expire if the legislature imposes a vehicle miles traveled fee or tax in the state. EVs with an all-electric range of at least 30 miles are subject to the registration renewal fee. EV registration fees will contribute to the state’s Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Bank to deploy charging stations through public-private partnerships.

West Virginia

WV flagAlternative Fuel Use Requirement: West Virginia higher education governing boards must use alternative fuels to the maximum extent feasible.

Provision for Establishment of AFV Acquisition Requirements: The West Virginia Department of Administration (Department) may require that up to 75 percent of a state agency’s fleet consist of AFVs . To meet these requirements, agencies may purchase or lease AFVs or convert existing vehicles to operate using alternative fuels. 

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on HEVs/EVs: S.B. 1006 (2017) created an additional annual registration fee of $100 for hybrids and $200 for electric, hydrogen or natural gas vehicles.

 Wisconsin

WI flagAFV Acquisition and Alternative Fuel Use Requirements: The Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) encourages state employees operating state-owned or leased motor vehicles to use hybrid electric vehicles or vehicles that operate on gasohol (a motor fuel containing at least 10 percent alcohol) or alternative fuels whenever feasible and cost effective.

Alternative Fuel Tax Exemption: No county, city, village, town, or other political subdivision may levy or collect any excise, license, privilege, or occupational tax on motor vehicle fuel or alternative fuels, or on the purchase, sale, handling, or consumption of motor vehicle fuel or alternative fuels.

Residential EVSE Rebate: Alliant Energy offers a $500 rebate to residential customers who purchase and install Level 2 EVSE . The EVSE must have been purchased and installed between April 1, 2016, and March 31, 2017.

Workplace and Public EVSE Rebate: Alliant Energy offers a rebate to commercial and industrial customers who purchase and install Level 2 EVSE for use by their employees or the public. The rebate is $1,000 for the purchase of a single connector EVSE , and $1,500 for a dual connector EVSE . 

Wyoming

AK flagAlternative Fuel Tax Rate: A license tax of $0.24 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) or diesel gallon equivalent (DGE) is collected on all alternative fuel used, sold, or distributed for sale or use in Wyoming. Alternative fuels include compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied natural gas (LNG), propane, electricity, and renewable diesel. 

EVSE Rebate: Yellowstone-Teton Clean Cities (YTCC) offers a rebate of $5,000 toward the purchase of publicly accessible EVSE . Eligible entities include businesses and municipalities in the communities surrounding Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Special Vehicle Registration Fee on EVs: H.B. 9 (2015), codified as Wyo. Stat. §31-3-102(a)(xxiii), requires a one-time $50 decal fee on electric vehicles. However, Wyoming enacted H.B. 2 in 2016, which clarifies legislative intent that the fee should be annual.

District of Columbia

DC flagAFV Acquisition Requirements: Fleets that operate at least 10 vehicles in the District of Columbia, a Clean Air Act designated ozone nonattainment area, must ensure that 70 percent of newly purchased vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 8,500 pounds (lbs.) or less and 50 percent of vehicles with a GVWR between 8,500 lbs. and 26,000 lbs. are clean fuel vehicles. For these purposes, a clean fuel is any fuel, including diesel, ethanol (including E85), hydrogen, liquefied petroleum gas (propane), natural gas, reformulated gasoline, or other power source (including electricity) used in a clean fuel vehicle that complies with standards and requirements applicable to such vehicles. 

AFV Exemption from Driving Restrictions: Certified clean fuel vehicles are exempt from time-of-day and day-of-week restrictions and commercial vehicle bans, if these vehicles are part of a fleet that operates at least 10 vehicles in the District of Columbia, a Clean Air Act designated ozone nonattainment area. This exemption does not permit unrestricted access to High Occupancy Vehicle lanes, except for covered fleet vehicles that have been certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency as Inherently Low Emission Vehicles (ILEV) and continue to be in compliance with applicable ILEV emission standards. 

AFV Tax Credit: An income tax credit of 50 percent—up to $19,000 per vehicle—is available for the incremental or conversion cost for qualified vehicles.

Alternative Fuel and Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Title Tax Exemption: Qualified alternative fuel vehicles (fuel economy of at least 40 miles per gallon) are exempt from the excise tax imposed on an original certificate of title.

Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Tax Credit: A tax credit is also available for 50 percent of the equipment costs for the purchase and installation of alternative fuel infrastructure. The maximum credit is $1,000 per residential electric vehicle charging station and $10,000 for each public fueling station. Qualified alternative fuels include, ethanol blends of at least 85 percent, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, propane, biodiesel, electricity, and hydrogen. This incentive expires Dec. 31, 2026. 

Reduced Registration Fee: A new motor vehicle with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency estimated average city fuel economy of at least 40 miles per gallon is eligible for a reduced vehicle registration fee of $36. This reduced rate applies to the first-time registration only.

Source Article